Loading... Please wait...

| cart checkout

Pick A Door


Get exclusive deals, news, and more when you sign up for our newsletter.

Atombombpocketknife | Atombombpocketknife [CD]

  • Image 1
  • 18563
$10.29 (inc Tax) $8.58 (exc Tax)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

6 tracks, 25 minutes. Debut mini-album from Chicago trio featuring two former members of Thumbnail.

Atombombpocketknife formed in 1997 and toured regionally before releasing a 7 inch (File 13 Records) and then a 10 inch on Southern in 1999. A full-length, Alpha Sounds, followed 2000. Following this the group toured with Man or Astro-Man?, Pinback, and Judah Johnson. A sophomore album, God Save The ABPK, was issued in 2001, the first on which Che Arthur appeared. Near the end of that same year, drummer Matt Espy (who had joined in 1999) left the group and was replaced by former Sterling drummer Tony Lazzara. Their third and final album was released on File 13 in 2004; the group disbanded in 2005.

A new medalion is around the necks of Chicago, America, and the World. Justin Sinkovich and David Burns, both survivors of the recent derailment of the band Thumbnail, have coaxed Allison Hollihan to join in a quest to destroy the doldrums of this modern day post-rock fiasco. David, Justin, and Allison grew up in the mid-eighties, and after drawing influence from such forefathers of sonic rock as The James Gang, The Who, Black Sabbath, and Led Zeppelin, they each learned to play their instruments while listening to teenage angst outlets like Sonic Youth's Sister and Dinosaur Jr.'s You're Living All Over Me. Contemporary historians claim ABPK has created "unrock," an amalgamation of riff anthems and experimental deconstruction... then reconstruction. Atombombpocketknife has already converted live audiences to the power of "Unrock" by the way of ear bleeding performances throughout the Midwest. Recorded by Greg Norman and RedRedMeat drummer/engineer Brian Deck at Clava Studio, then mastered by John Loder at Abbey Road Studios, this EP not only personifies ABPK's live sound, it surpasses it. This record was prefaced by a 7 inch single released on File 13 Records in April of 1999.

Track listing

  1. Disintegrate New Generation
  2. What It Takes To Be Alone
  3. Welcome To The Well
  4. Calibrate Me
  5. Daggers From Above
Running Time: 25:15
  • Available on CD and 10 inch vinyl.
  • File under: post-rock
  • For fans of: Wire, Unwound, Drive Like Jehu, Love & Rockets
  • Released: May 1999

Vendors Other Products

write a review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

You Recently Viewed...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

United Kingdom British Pounds Sterling
European Union Euro
United States United States Dollar

Similar Products

Related Products