Loading... Please wait...

| cart checkout

Pick A Door


Get exclusive deals, news, and more when you sign up for our newsletter.

Probot - Probot [Vinyl]

  • SUNN30LP
$22.80 (inc Tax) $19.00 (exc Tax)
Calculated at checkout

> Sold Out (Sorry!)

Product Description

11 tracks + bonus track, 53 minutes. Nicest man in rock Dave Grohl's all-star metal supergroup. 

After years of popularity in the alternative rock scene, Dave Grohl wanted to express the passion for heavy metal he bore since his youth. In 2000, with some free time on his hands, Grohl recorded seven instrumentals without vocals but with various heavy metal musicians in mind (i.e. one song with the intense thrash style of Sepultura, another in the classic metal flavor of Motörhead). He labeled the recordings "Probot" but never had the intention of fully developing or releasing the material. Years later, with the help of friend Matt Sweeney, Grohl slowly managed to contact some of the artists in mind and began developing a studio album out of his work. He noted in a Rolling Stone article: "I came up with my wish list of all of my favorite singers from this era which is '82 to '89 underground metal, and all the bands I listened to at the time: Eric Wagner from Trouble and Snake from Voivod and Cronos [from Venom] and Lemmy and Wino. We started making phone calls trying to find all these people."

On the album, Grohl fulfilled his dream of teaming up with heavy metal vocalists from 1980s and 1990s metal bands who influenced his musical tastes while he was growing up. Grohl wrote all of the music and performed most of the instrumentation. Each track on the album features a different lead singer including Lemmy, Max Cavalera and King Diamond. Some of the singers who contributed to the album did not work directly with Grohl; instead, the tapes were shipped from studio to studio until the album was finished.  The video for the single, "Shake Your Blood," features an appearance by 66 women from the SuicideGirls adult entertainment website. In the video, the band is represented with Dave Grohl on drums, Lemmy on lead vocals and bass, and Wino (who sang on the Probot track "The Emerald Law") on lead guitar.

Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayil plays additional guitar on Ice Cold Man and Sweet Dreams.

A few minutes before track 11 ends, at 8:56, a hidden track begins, sung by comedian/actor/musician Jack Black.

The album artwork was created by musician Away (Michel Langevin) of Voivod.

Track Listing: 

01. Centuries of Sin - featuring Cronos (Venom) 
02. Red War - featuring Max Cavalera (Soulfly, Sepultura) 
03. Shake Your Blood - featuring Lemmy (Motorhead) 
04. Access Babylon - featuring Mike Dean (Corrosion of Conformity) 
05. Silent Spring - featuring Kurt Brecht (DRI) 
06. Ice Cold Man - featuring Lee Dorian (Cathedral/Napalm Death) 
07. Emerald Law - featuring Wino (Obsessed/St.Vitus/ Spirit Caravan/ Place Of Skulls) 
08. Big Sky - featuring Tom G. Warrior (Celtic Frost/Apollyon Sun) 
09. Dictatorsaurus - featuring Snake (Voivod) 
10. My Tortured Soul - featuring Eric Wagner (Trouble) 
11. Sweet Dreams - featuring King Diamond (Mercyful Fate) 
Running Time: 52:49

  • Available on CD and double LP.
  • Released February 2004
  • Licensed to Southern Records via Roswell and released on the Southern Lord imprint to coincide with the USA release.



Vendors Other Products

write a review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

You Recently Viewed...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

United Kingdom British Pounds Sterling
European Union Euro
United States United States Dollar

Similar Products

Related Products