Rudimentary Peni | Archaic (remaster) [CD]

(Inc. Tax)
(Ex. Tax)
(You save £1.34 )
Write a Review
Calculated at Checkout

12 tracks, 16 minutes.  Remastered version of the outsider punks 2004 release. CD version in gatefold wallet with 16 page art/lyrics booklet,. Also available: Vinyl version is on 180g black wax and features gatefold sleeve, 6 full size double-sided art cards, bonus poster, and download card. Limited edition shirt also available.

Formed in 1980, Rudimentary Peni were initially inspired by bands such as The Damned, Slaughter and the Dogs, and Discharge. The release of their first EP in 1981 coincided with their first gig, with Flux of Pink Indians in London. Despite many rumours, no member of the band has ever died, (yet!) and the line up has remained constant on all the recorded releases.

Some tracks are written by Grant and some by Nick whilst others are co-written by both members.

Archaic deals more with personal experience than the majority of the bands previous releases. The twelve songs on the album cover a variety of, shall we say, darker topics including mortality, despair, cremation, and the closing of the British national health service.  The brevity of the lyrics (often a single line) is matched by the pummeling harshness of the guitar riffs, which hammer away as if pouring salt into an open wound.


  • Nick Blinko
  • Grant Matthews
  • Jon Grenville


  • File Under: Rock, Punk
  • For Fans of: The Germs, Discharge, Captain Beefheart, Extreme Noise Terror
  • Original release:  June 2004
  • Remaster release: September 2013 

Track Listing:

  1.  One and All
  2. Suffer
  3. In Crematorium Flame
  4. Lost
  5. The Rain
  6. Mercy of Slumber
  7. The Curse
  8. The Enlightened Dreamer
  9. X N.H.S
  10. Farewell Tomorrow
  11. House of the Void
  12. Rehearsal for Morality

            Total Running Time:15:33