William Elliott Whitmore - Hymns For The Hopeless [CD]

(Inc. Tax)
(Ex. Tax)
(You save $2.51 )
Write a Review
Calculated at Checkout
8 tracks, 36 minutes. Mr. Whitmore's debut album from 2003. Brought up on bluegrass and punk rock. One man, one voice, a 5-string banjo and a DIY ethic.

William Elliott Whitmore is a very unique soul. Hailing from a small town along the banks of the Mississippi River, Mr. Whitmore's experiences are steeped in the black Iowa dirt, the bracing punch of Kentucky whiskey, and the cold hard truths of life, love, and death. His songs are stripped bare of any pretense or protection, leaving the listener no choice but to face their own demons. Often referred to as the "Hillbilly Ray Charles," Mr. Whitmore builds his songs of redemption and his murder ballads with little more than his banjo, his harmonica, and his incredible voice. Each song on Hymns For The Hopeless represents an important piece of his life. Whitmore's primary influences are illuminating: The Louvin Brothers, Minor Threat, Ralph Stanley, Captain Beefheart.

Pulling a stool up to the microphone at a recent performance, Mr. Whitmore's presence completely silenced the audience. This would not be so memorable were it not for the fact that this was a dingy punk rock dive filled to the rafters with sweaty young no-goodniks waiting for the next bunch of screamers to plug in. Mr. Whitmore explains his outlook by saying that "each song is its own church and one cannot help but step inside and share a seat."

Hymns For The Hopeless is far from hopeless. Every song, despite its tragic narrative or painful conclusion, contains a grain of goodness. After facing their demons, the listener is then left newly inspired, freshly optimistic, and able to appreciate all that had been taken for granted.

Track Listing:
1. Cold And Dead
2. Sometimes Our Dreams Float Like Anchors
3. Does Me No Good
4. Lord Only Knows
5. Pine Box
6. From The Cell Door To The Gallows
7. Burn My Body
8. Our Paths Will Cross Again
Running Time: 36 mins
  • File Under: Blues, Country, Folk, Alt-Country
  • For Fans Of: Doc Boggs, Woody Guthrie, Seasick Steve, Mark Lanegan
  • Also available on download and vinyl LP.
  • Original Release: September 2003

1 Review Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5
    Great music

    Posted by Bob on 17th May 2012

    super killer on all count...spread the word and support real music!!