William Elliott Whitmore - The Day the End Finally Came [Vinyl]

(Inc. Tax)
(Ex. Tax)
(You save $1.93 )
Write a Review
Calculated at Checkout
3 Tracks, 13 minutes. Released to promote his 2004 European tour and featuring two non-LP tracks, William is joined by Payload (ex-Ten Grand) on the opener; fleshing out his skeletal balladry.
Mr. Whitmore released his debut album, Hymns For The Hopeless, on Southern Records in September 2003. An arresting collection of redemption songs and murder ballads, built around little more than his banjo and his incredible voice, each of its eight songs contained a grain of his life and revealed the subtle influences of The Louvin Brothers, Minor Threat, Ralph Stanley and Captain Beefheart.
Featuring one of these songs, "Does Me No Good" alongside two brand new recordings, this seven inch was released to coincide with Whitmore's 2004 European tour. The first of the new tracks, "The Day the End Finally Came", features Payload, the band arising from the ashes of Ten Grand after the tragic death of singer Matt Davis. "The Buzzards Won't Cry", the other new track, features the recording talents of the pAperchAse's John Congleton, making this single the collaborative Southern project of your dreams.
Track listing
  1. The Day the End Finally Came
  2. Does Me No Good
  3. The Buzzards Won't Cry

1 Review Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5

    Posted by Bob on 17th May 2012

    do you remember what amazing music sounds like?if not buy this and listen to it!!!spread the word.....town to town one song at a time!!!stop stealing music and buy this stuff its sounds better!!!